Access Manager

Securely delete a file

When a file is deleted in Windows, the contents of the file is not actually removed from your hard disk, even when the Recycle Bin is emptied. Instead, Windows marks the area on the hard disk that was occupied by the file as "available to be re-used". This means that the data contained in the file is not overwritten until Windows decides to re-use that particular area of the hard disk. A determined person could use specialised disk utilities to recover the deleted file and access your information.

Access Manager can securely delete any file on your computer or network. The contents of the file is overwritten with meaningless random data before it is deleted. This means that the information in the file cannot be recovered at a later date. Access Manager secure file deletion complies with the US Department of Defense directive DOD 5220.22-M.

To securely delete a file select 'Securely Delete a File' from the File menu.

This feature is available in the Access Manager Professional Edition.

© Access Manager 2016, All rights reserved. ⚫ Website created by Black Cat Systems